In Italy, the three primary ancient grains, Emmer, Spelt, and Einkorn, are referred to as farro medio, farro grande, and farro piccolo, respectively.  That’s why we refer to these three grains, generally, as farro.

Einkorn is the first form of cultivated wheat, first grown in the Fertile Crescent over 5,000 years ago, but Emmer is the ancestor of today’s bread wheat.  Einkorn and Emmer are related through a distant ancestor.

From Emmer, two well-known descendents developed, Khorasan and Spelt.